Skip to content

Last Presidential Flashback until CONFERENCE!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this journey looking back at the organization through the eyes of our past presidents and I hope you are getting packed and ready to journey to the falls and help us cheers to 20 years of EACE!

Our last Presidential Flashback takes us from 2012 – 2015 as we highlight Adrienne Alberts, Jennifer Barr, and Scott Rappaport (left to right), who’s picture features 2 past presidents and our future president Stacy McClelland!

 

Adrienne Alberts: 2012 – 2013
American Red Cross

  1. Where was your first EACE conference?
    My first conference was in 1998 and I believe it was at the conference center at Georgetown University. I was a DAC scholarship award winner and I was elated to be at the conference.
    P.S. EACE still offers scholarships (and grants!) Check them out on eace.org under “Scholarships, Grants & Awards”.
  2. What is your proudest EACE moment?
    I have so many proud EACE moments, but one that I fought hard for was the exploration of employer engagement vs. solely looking at membership. In my time as president, we like all other associations, were grappling with how to increase employer membership. Having made the transition from higher ed to corporate and understanding the pressures with budgets and providing ROI on investments, I knew that my organization may or may not invest in a membership but they would absolutely support my attendance at a conference or engagement at worthwhile events. All of that participation is engagement and exactly what college members were looking for. So after several intense discussions, we agreed as a board to measure engagement while continuing to work to improve membership. The infographic at that year’s conference was like a gift. It truly showcased how engaged employers are in EACE and I was extremely proud. Capturing the right metric to truly tell a story is something we all work on as leaders. This one was important to me and I believe beneficial to EACE and I remain very proud of our willingness to see things through a different lens and push boundaries for EACE and our profession!
    P.S. Check out the legacy of Adrienne’s proudest EACE moment at this year’s conference where you will find the “EACE 2016 – 2017 Year Wrap Up”!

Jennifer Barr: 2013 – 2014
Haverford College

  1. Where was your first EACE conference?
    My first EACE conference was the first Danvers, Mass. conference. I distinctly remember being swept into an amazing group of EACE members that included Matthew Brink, Amy Feifer and Sam Ratcliffe. There may have been a boat to Maine involved, as well as a drive to Portsmouth, NH. Most of all, I remember the incredible welcome that I received, and the commitment everyone had to the organization. As a result of that first conference, I was eager to be involved.
  2. What is your proudest EACE moment?
    There are so many! The moments that pop into my head include Road Trips to the Real World – a program I started during my first chair experience with what was called the Liberal Arts Network. I am also so proud of introducing Group Membership during my time on the Board as the Director of Membership, which other Regional ACEs have now adopted. Finally, I am incredibly proud of my time as President. I have so many proud moments during the 2013-2014 year, but most important to mention is that everything we accomplished was because of the wonderful Board Members that supported me. EACE works best when volunteers work together, and some of my proudest moments are because of that great collaborative spirit!

Scott Rappaport: 2014 – 2015
University of Delaware 

  1. Where was your first EACE conference?
    My first EACE conference was in Pittsburgh in 2004, when we returned in 2015 I was president of the association 🙂
  2. What is your proudest EACE moment?
    While I hope all the formal things that I have done with EACE have a lasting impact, I honestly feel my proudest moment from EACE was seeing so many EACE folks at my wedding. EACE is all about relationships, I have built relationships that will be life long friendships. I couldn’t ask for anything else.
    And on that note we wish you many congrats on the birth of your child earlier this month!

We hope everyone has enjoyed this look back at the presidents of our organization and that now you will recognize their faces at the conference and go introduce yourselves – especially all you newcomers!

Get tips on your trip to help you pack and get organized! See you in Niagara Falls!

