Skip to content

Presidential Flashback – A Decade Apart

A decade apart in leadership our next Presidential Flashback features Nancy Dudak and Donna Ratcliffe.

nancyNancy Dudak: 1998 – 1999
Villanova University

  1. Where was your first EACE conference?
    My first conference was in 1983 at Seven Springs, PA right outside of Pittsburgh. It was MAPA at the time. We had our annual conferences in the fall back then and I had only been on the job for about 2 months.
  2. What is your proudest EACE moment?
    My proudest moments were speaking to the newcomers at the conferences. Most of them were young, new professionals and I enjoyed seeing their enthusiasm and energy for the career development profession. I spoke to them about the rewards of becoming involved with professional associations and of course the best one (MAPA ->MAACE -> EACE)

donnaratcliffeDonna Cassell Ratcliffe: 2008 – 2009
Virginia Tech 

  1. Where was your first EACE conference?
    My first regional conference was in 1988 in Baltimore, MD (Middle Atlantic Placement Association MAPA – later merged with another association to create EACE). That year I received a MAPA Research Grant for my dissertation research and had the opportunity to present my dissertation topic, research process and outcomes at the annual conference. I remember someone coming up to me after my session who said “It is rare to attend a conference and have scholarly work presented.” Made me smile.
  2. What is your proudest EACE moment?
    In 2003 the EACE Board decided to move from a single employee model of support to an association management firm to provide financial, technical, and other support services to the board, committees, and members. Known as EACE Headquarters (HQ), this company was located in Wisconsin. With the exception of two HQ staff members who attended board meetings, we interacted with the others by phone or emails to conduct association business. During my year as President Elect, board members and committee chairs were challenged by communication, quality, and timeliness of services issues with HQ staff. With the goal to improve relationships and productivity, I decided that my first board meeting as EACE president (summer of 2008) would be in Oak Creek, WI to meet all HQ staff face-to-face. Strategic planning meetings, tour of the office, meeting in teams with HQ staff, an afternoon cookout and an evening at a Brewers baseball game proved to be beneficial to EACE business.

Only a few more weeks until we are all together in Niagara Falls to celebrate 20 Years of EACE! I hope you are all signed up for conference and getting excited by these fun things to do in Niagara Falls. See you on the Maiden of the Mist!

