Skip to content

Membership Spotlight – “We are EACE” – Meet Mallory O’Neil, Vector Marketing

EACE has been asking new members to share some fun facts about themselves. Here we get to know Mallory O’Neil.

Employer
Vector Marketing

What do you do in your current position?
Campus Recruiting Manager, Vector East

Where are you originally from?
Marlton, NJ

Where do you live now?
Voorhees, NJ

Outside of work, what are some of your favorite things to do?
I love dancing, running, singing, reading biographies and nerding out on World War II and American history. I also spend a lot of time volunteering with the Special Olympics track and bowling teams.

Why do you do what you do?
I’m a huge believer in the opportunities that Vector offers students. We’re not just a direct sales company. We’re teaching students skills for life. Within a few short months with our company they can gain experience and confidence in public speaking, sales, customer service, networking and most impressively, running their own business. The change I see in each student that works with us is always astounding. I love working with colleges to share our growth opportunities with all of their students.

What is your educational background?
I graduated with honors from Monmouth University with a bachelor of arts in communication and a minor in history. While at Monmouth I was an active member of my sorority, Zeta Tau Alpha, a coordinator for the student ambassador program and an adviser for first-year students.

What was your first job?
My first job was as a production assistant on Kitchen Nightmares with Gordon Ramsay. (Yes, he is much nicer than he seems on TV!) It was such a cool experience working in reality television. I worked with Kitchen Nightmares for 3 seasons which opened the doors to work on other shows such as Master Chef, Real World and Bad Girls Club.

What is the best advice you ever received?
Never stop learning. I’ve always been a very curious person but I was taught never to trick yourself into thinking you know everything. There are always opportunities to learn and grow. Read, explore and listen as much as you can.

For someone starting in your field, what advice would you give?
Building relationship and networking are the key to any profession but especially recruiting. Be kind and professional and you will have no problem building relationships with your colleagues.

What is something that might surprise us about you?
This probably isn’t surprising to anyone who has spent more than 10 minutes with me because I’m constantly singing or humming but I would love to have my own variety show a la the great, Carol Burnett.

