Skip to content

Double Dog Dare

By Megan Wolleben, Assistant Director at Bucknell University and EACE Board Member. 

I know we are all in the middle crazy times for our members – from putting on career fairs (remember the #ShareYourFair social media campaign!) on the college side to going to them week after week recruiting on our employer side – and the last thing you want to do right now is to say yes to something else. But that’s exactly what I’m going to ask you to do. Do you remember how we wrapped up the EACE conference in June? With the amazingly energizing Lu Ann Cahn!  That energy has stayed with me and now I want to know if you’ve done what you dared yourself to do that day?

13925889_10101466694140090_8652526880043169609_o

First dare in the books and 1st in my age group!

At our table I shared my dare: complete a Sprint Triathlon. My brother-in-law had been bugging me to do one with him but the timing and the location was not working out. Saying no had left me with a nagging feeling that I was avoiding a challenge. So when I saw that I would be home for one in my own town I thought how could I say no? But I still hadn’t committed to it. Sharing my dare aloud made it real and after the conference I registered. That was actually the hardest part – well actually the run was pretty bad that day because of real feel temps pushing over 100! – but seriously taking the step to commit myself to this dare was the first challenge to overcome. I knew I could do it but I don’t like to “just do” things. I like to do them and do them well. I – like many millennials (and people) – get paralyzed by the fear of failure. But by daring myself I took off some of that pressure; my first step would now be trying it out. You can’t be bad at something you never try, right? (Try? Tri? The double entendres are endless.) It was freeing. I also had the pressure of returning to the EACE conference next year (Niagara Falls, who’s comin’?!) without having done my dare. No way that was happening.

IMG_8819.JPG

Second dare – and 102 miles – in the books!

And then a funny thing happened – before I even crossed the finish line for the Tri I had already found my next dare: biking 100 miles! This one I was so proud of and, if you let me, I could go on and on about it. But I know you are busy so let me just wrap it up and say Lu Ann was right!  One dare begets another; an inch out of your comfort zone once gives you confidence to go a mile out of it next time. I know my dares were more physically challenging than professional but the mindset – of saying yes before you say no, of not holding yourself back, of finally trying things you’ve said for years you wanted to do – all that can easily transfer over to work. Maybe it’s a new big idea you’ve been scared to bring up, maybe it’s a course you want to take, maybe it’s saying no to something that just isn’t working any more. The possibilities – the dares to try – are endless. 

Given that Lu Ann originally dared you consider this a double dog dare. Yeah, I am serious! Do your dare, share your dare, do another dare!

I know I’m not the only one out there, have you completed your dare? Share it with us by sending in details to the PR team. Want to write a post about it? Do that too by using this form. We can’t wait to hear from you, share your dare and celebrate your accomplishment!

 

