Skip to content

EACE Conference Takeaways by member Donna Brooks

The EACE Annual Conference, my take aways….

I have had the opportunity to be offered a new career position which is very inspiring.  I’m not content in a position unless I can learn and grow from that experience.  Having over 10 years of working in the field of Human Resources, I have transitioned into the field of Career Development at Norwalk Community College, Norwalk, CT.  I’ve seen many resumes in my day, produced job announcements and participated in many search committees.   So it appeared, this job is not going to be that difficult, it’s going to be somewhat easy..  WRONG!  I couldn’t be more mistaken!

I have found that it’s not easy to help create a resume and cover letter for a student who is in their first year of college and has never had a job before.   It is challenging to help a 1st year student in selecting a career path.  It’s difficult to encourage a student who after time and time again of submitting a resume, feels that the resume is ineffective. As a Career Coach I’ve experienced students whose momentum are low, feeling deeply discouraged and futures feel bleak.  I’m thinking to myself, what did I get myself into?  How will I learn to develop the expertise in this field so that I can both utilize my past experiences in HR and allow it to merge with my new position as a Career Coach.  It was apparent there were other things I needed to learn.

donnablogI participated in several workshops at the EACE conference which were informative and provided direction on best practices in the field. Attending the 2016 EACE Annual Conference was very stimulating.  My mind is still synthesizing with all that I absorbed in such a short period of time.  The EACE Conference was non-stop with workshop sessions, lectures, discussions, keynote speakers, activities and exhibits, which were very informative.  I got the chance to meet experienced and tenured people, with diverse backgrounds who came to learn and take on best practices just like me.

I am so thankful and grateful to be chosen to participate as the Diversity & Inclusion Ernie Andrews Scholarship Winner.  I truly do not believe I would have otherwise had this understanding had it not been for this scholarship and those who felt that I deserved it.   I can’t thank the committee enough as I was transformed, I am now inspired to push through my limits and take on the challenges that I face and network with others.  I also want to get involved as EACE has motivated me and has given me so much that I wish to give back therefore, I’ve signed up to participate Awards & Research Grants Committee.

donnablog2Moving forward, I’m hoping to develop relationships and networks in order to maximize what I have learned to service our student’s population and perhaps those in the profession.  Thank you again for helping me to transition and gain the knowledge and skills that I needed.

Donna Brooks

EACE – Ernie Andrews Scholarship Winner – 2016

