Skip to content

Member Spotlight: Pamela Arroyo

What was your career path to get your current role? 
In college, I worked two part-time jobs that were particularly relevant to my career now; one was in the Admissions Office and one was doing promotions as an independent contractor for various companies and products. They helped me obtain an internship with UPMC’s human resources department where I was able to use skills learned to assist with recruiting initiatives. After obtaining full-time employment, I recruited for various divisions over the next seven years until moving into a version of my current role.

What was your first job?
Actually, it was with UPMC! After interning, I was offered a full-time role in the human resources department. I spent time posting jobs, conducting phone and in-person interviews, conducting background checks, and working on data entry.

Why did you choose this career?
I don’t think I “chose” this career… I think it chose me! I love what I do; being able to help people discover a meaningful career, just like I have done, is incredibly inspiring both personally and professionally.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role?
Flexibility! There’s no typical day, and it’s important to both understand and embrace that. Each day brings new activities and challenges. One day might entail spending time with our executives interviewing potential talent, the next might be representing UPMC at a national event, and another might entail working with the rest of our leadership team to help set strategy for the upcoming year.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly?
I have always enjoyed being involved in a variety of activities. In school, I balanced playing collegiate volleyball, academics, and two part-time jobs. When I joined the workforce, it became second nature to keep getting involved. I signed up for committees, volunteered at events, and enjoyed time with my colleagues after the work day ended. As I mature in the workforce, I think it’s important to continue to keep doing these things.

Did you have a mentor?
I have had multiple mentors, and I think it’s been helpful to have different mentors for different situations. Finding people you admire is easy, but finding people who have your best interests at heart can be challenging. I have been fortunate to work with some of the most creative, intelligent, and savvy individuals. They keep me motivated and engaged in what I do.

What is your biggest career accomplishment?
One of my biggest career highlights to date has been presenting at a national conference with our Chief Financial Officer. The entire process, from submitting the presentation to working with him on the content to actually presenting was an incredible learning experience. It also symbolized, at least in my mind, becoming a subject matter expert and learning how to use my voice to share our strategy.

What is your advice to students looking for their first job?
So many students look for their “dream job” right out of school, and that’s nearly impossible to obtain. When I accepted my first job, I wasn’t entirely sure it was what I wanted to do forever – but, I knew that I enjoyed the people I worked with, my boss, and saw a lot of opportunity within the company.

What is your advice to young professionals in the field who aspire to your current role?
Figure out how to get related experience – for me, this meant practicing being the “brand” of a company via my two part-time jobs in college. If you can prove that you can do it and have done it, a company is much more likely to take a chance on you.

What was the best career advice you have ever received?
One of the hardest transitions I made was moving into management; suddenly, people depended on you and your decisions. In addition, I was used to working independently and accomplishing things at my own pace. When managing people, it’s just as important to take time to nurture and develop them as it is to get the job accomplished. When I once asked about how to best manage my time, one of my mentors shared with me to take care of my people first… no matter what. I’ve tried to do that ever since and it’s really made a huge difference for me personally and our team.

What would you like colleagues to know about your organization?
UPMC is such a great place to work! The opportunities are endless and we have fantastic leaders that will inspire you and challenge you every day. In addition, it’s a great feeling to know that I’m contributing, in a way that utilizes my talents, to the healthcare industry.

About Pamela Arroyo:
Pamela Arroyo currently serves as Program Director within talent acquisition at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC). UPMC is an $11 billion, 62,000 employee integrated health care and delivery system. As a leader on the talent acquisition team, she provides oversight for the functions of Campus Programs, Workforce Development, and Recruitment Events. She is responsible for implementing an employment brand strategy for local, regional, and national events, identification and selection of pipeline talent, linking recruitment and program strategy to successful behaviors and overarching goals, and managing internal and external partnerships.

Pamela has held a variety of human resources related positions at UPMC; she has supported operations within the corporate and insurance services divisions along with the UPMC Cancer Centers. She is a recipient of UPMC’s prestigious Award for Excellence in Service, and was previously named the UPMC Center for Inclusion Employee Partnership Council Representative of the Year. In addition to her role at UPMC, she is also an adjunct faculty member at the University Of Pittsburgh Graduate School Of Public Health, University of Pittsburgh College of Business Administration, Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine School of Graduate Studies, and Argosy University.

Pamela graduated from Carlow University with a bachelor’s degree in Business/Communications and later obtained a master’s degree in Professional Leadership. She has served on the Board of Directors for the Carlow University Alumni Association and Get Involved!, Inc. She is a One Young World ambassador and volunteers her time with the United Way, Junior Achievement of Western Pennsylvania, the National Aviary, and the Pittsburgh Promise.

 

