Skip to content

TECH Corner – Non Digital

EACE Blog contribution by Megan Wolleben, Assistant Director, Bucknell University’s Career Development Center

I know you mainly hear me harp on about social media and all things digital but today I’m going to kick it old school and talk about BOOKS. In 2014 I set a goal to read 52 books; by December 9th I had read 53 effectively reaching (and surpassing!) my goal. I prefer to read non-fiction so many of the books I read end up being career and work related.

So when I saw an article in The Chronicle that asked 12 scholars, “What books Changed Your Mind?” it inspired me to write about my own reading experiences. The list included nonfiction books published in the last 30 year that “not merely inspired or influenced their thinking, but profoundly altered the way they regard themselves, their work, the world.”  (And may I highly recommend The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour De France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs by Daniel Coyle & Tyler Hamilton)

Here are my top 3 (in no particular order) that have not merely inspired or influenced me but have altered the way I view the world:

  • The Shallows: What the Internet Is Doing to Our Brains by Nicholas G. Carr
  • The Age of Heretics: A History of the Radical Thinkers Who Reinvented Corporate Management by Art Kleiner
  • The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business by Charles Duhigg

Very directly helpful for work was The Start-Up Of You by Reid Hoffman and Ben Casnocha

Up next on my list are:

  • Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell
  • The Defining Decade: Why Your Twenties Matter–And How to Make the Most of Them Now by Meg Jay (am I too old for this?!)
  • Breaking the Bamboo Ceiling: Career Strategies for Asians by Jane Hyun.

Have you read any of these? What are the career/professional books on your list –either that you’ve read and loved or want to read (and hopefully love)?

If I’ve hit a book nerve join me on GoodReads to keep the sharing going.

“When you hold a (real) book in your hands, the molecules in your body rejoice.” Maira Kalman

Megan Wolleben

Megan Wolleben

Megan Wolleben has worked at the Bucknell University Career Development Center since 2007, where she is currently an Assistant Director. She is responsible for the marketing and communications of the office, as well as manages the department’s social media presence. She is the co-chair for EACE’s Technology Committee and a contributing writer to the National Association of Colleges & Employers (NACE) “Tech Talk” column as well as co-author of the “Career Counselor’s Guide to Social Media”. Megan earned her B.A. and Master’s in Communication from Fordham University.

