Skip to content

Spotlight – Lauren Giardino, Bryant University

Lauren Giardino

Lauren Giardino

Lauren is Manager, Employer Relations & Recruiting Programs at Bryant University. She has bachelor degree from Providence College. Lauren has been with Bryant University and  in her current role for 1 year and six months.

What was your career path (previous roles) to get your current role?: Prior to joining the Amica Center team at Bryant, I worked at State Street Corporation in Boston within Talent Acquisition. While I held a number of different positions throughout my 7 years at State Street, my roles were always very closely aligned with campus recruitment initiatives and entry-level hiring. My recruitment background and employer perspective helped me to land my current role managing our corporate partnerships. This role has been the start of a truly incredible career! 

What was your first job?: My first job after college was a Recruiting Coordinator position at State Street. I learned the fundamentals of recruiting and found working with entry-level candidates to be very rewarding.

Why did you choose this career? : I’ve always had a passion for helping people, so I greatly enjoy being able to advise and assist students with career planning and development, and how to successfully transition from college to career!

What is the skill that is most important in your current role?: I believe we really never stop learning, so for me, it is important that I have both the ability and drive to learn as much as I can every day. In order to maintain a successful recruiting program, I need to stay abreast of industry, economic and recruitment trends so I can best serve my employer partners and students.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly?: I’ve been utilizing this skill from a young age, but it was truly fine-tuned once I became a professional. I stay current by reading articles and reports, attending conferences and events, networking with peers and speaking directly with employers.

Did you have a mentor? If so, how did that mentor help in your career development?: N/A – however, I do serve as a mentor through my involvement with Bottomline, a non-profit organization that provides mentoring opportunities and support to at-risk urban youth. I speak with students interested in pursuing a similar career path and share my experiences, helpful information and advice. 

What is your biggest career accomplishment?: My biggest career accomplishment was successfully managing my first career fair! While I had oversaw events in the past, this was my first large-scale event managing all logistics. I’ve always enjoyed event planning and look forward to managing our upcoming spring fair!

What is your advice to students looking for their first job?: Take an active role in your career planning: seek out opportunities to learn about potential career paths or industries of interest, get involved with clubs or organizations on campus that will help you acquire or strengthen your skills, and ensure you know how to effectively articulate your personal brand to employers!

What is your advice to young professionals in the field who aspire to your current role? : Build and maintain relationships with contacts in the industry. Once you build rapport with these individuals, you can leverage these contacts as you take the next step in your career.

What was the best career advice you have ever received?: Networking is a truly powerful tool – always be ready with your personal elevator pitch as anyone you come in contact with could become a potential job lead! 

What would you like colleagues to know about your organization (i.e. hiring practices/programs)?: We offer lots of fantastic opportunities for employers to access Bryant talent! Visit http://career.bryant.edu to learn more!

One Comment
  1. Barbara Gregory #

    Terrific article, Lauren!

    Barb
    Barbara Currier Gregory
    Manager, Academic Internship Program
    BRYANT UNIVERSITY | Amica Center for Career Education
    P 401.232.6355 | F 401.319.3355 http://www.career.bryant.edu

    December 30, 2014

Comments are closed.

