Skip to content

Canva? Yes Please!

EACE Blog contribution by Megan Wolleben, Assistant Director, Bucknell University’s Career Development Center

According to Citrix report from January, 63% of social media is made up of images. While this is a great statistic to be aware of coming up with images can be challenging, especially when there is no obvious image – like marketing walk-in hours for your office or Twitter chats. But just as I was about to resort to clip art (I was getting pretty low!) along came Canva.

I sent my student workers on a quest to learn more about Canva after hearing about through this article from Social PR (has good ideas for Twitter Chats) but it was really I who fell down the rabbit hole.

Despite my efforts, Photoshop has remained an untamed beast that devours time and patience in equal quantities. For simple projects, or when I just wanted to add an image to a blog post, I often felt frustrated that I couldn’t just create something quickly and easily. I don’t need layers or opacity; I just need a jpeg! Welcome Canva. In about 5 minutes (maybe less I did check Hootsuite in the middle) I designed this image:

BPN_Canva

Just a simple image to share some pictures of a recent field trip we took. Maybe you are promoting something that doesn’t lend itself to the visual world, Canva let’s you create things so you can do something like this:

nichecanva

Canva has built in templates you can choose from, designed around what I imagine to be popular needs – like Facebook cover photos! The options seem endless but if you can’t find what you want you can always create your own. There is a full library of images and symbols. It is true that some you have to purchase for (on average) $1 but you can upload your own images so it is easy to get around that.

We all know great design comes from the professionals so imagine my delight when I got an email announcing “design school.” Design school being a synonym for online, hands on-ish tutorials in which “Design Essentials” guide you through simple tools and techniques that help you create designs “you can proudly share with the world.” I don’t expect to be able to add graphic designer to my skills on LinkedIn but I’m hoping I can take it up a notch or two and really learn how to use Canva to the fullest.

canvadesignschool2

There are so many options when using Canva that I highly encourage you to check out for yourself. As the semester winds down take some time to play around with it and see what you like or don’t like or try out the design school– and share any images you create!

If you are already an active Canva user what are your favorite tips and tricks for the EACE community?


MeganMegan Wolleben has worked at the Bucknell University Career Development Center since 2007, where she is currently an Assistant Director. She is responsible for the marketing and communications of the office, as well as manages the department’s social media presence. She is the co-chair for EACE’s Technology Committee and a contributing writer to the National Association of Colleges & Employers (NACE) “Tech Talk” column as well as co-author of the “Career Counselor’s Guide to Social Media”. Megan earned her B.A. and Master’s in Communication from Fordham University.

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for sharing!! I definitely lack skill in this area, so i will be checking it out!

    December 2, 2014
  2. I recently discovered Canva as a tool for my personal blog – and I am soooo excited to use it as I create visuals for programs and events in the office next year. It literally will save HOURS since I don’t (yet) have graphic design savvy. The fact that it’s (mostly) free is even better. Thanks for this post!

    December 3, 2014

Comments are closed.

