Skip to content

Where They Are Now – Camille Franklin, 2U

Camille Franklin

Director of Career Services – 2U

Camille-FranklinCamille earned a BA from Howard University and a M.A. from George Washington University.  She recently started in her role at 2U a little over a month ago.

What was your career path to get your current role?  I received my master’s degree in international affairs and worked for several years supporting international development projects. It was through that work that I discovered I had a knack for providing career advice. So, I eventually transitioned into a role as a career advisor for students pursuing degrees in international studies. I served in the American University Career Center as the Career Advisor for students in the School of International Service at American University for two years and was then promoted to Director of Career Development. I did that for eight years before leaving AU to start a career services office for the College of Professional Studies at the George Washington University. I did that for a couple of years and once I felt like the office was sustainable and thriving I left for a new challenge. I spent the last four years at Booz Allen Hamilton, a strategy and technology consulting firm, where I managed the firm’s onboarding program, a talent development program which was designed to help successfully integrate and engage new hires and interns into the organization of over 20,000.

What was your first job?  Hmmm. I don’t know if I can remember that far back. It was either McDonald’s or it was at my neighborhood video store where I rented VHS tapes (yes VHS) to customers.

Why did you choose this career?  I’m very passionate about setting new (and seasoned) professionals up for career success. In my ideal world everyone has a job they love that provides the compensation to support a lifestyle they love. 🙂

What is the skill that is most important in your current role?  I’m not sure if this is a skill or a quality, but I would say authenticity. A huge part of my job is connecting with external stakeholders in a way that is meaningful and which develops trust. I think being authentic and not putting on a “professional mask” accelerates the trust building.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly?  Good question. When I was a more junior professional, I was less comfortable being myself in a professional setting. I felt like I had to fit in a certain mold. It’s a lot of work to wear that mask. I finally had to just let the butterfly out of the cocoon!

What is your biggest career accomplishment?  I was part of the first group of career services professionals to be selected for the Fulbright International Education Administration Program. It was a huge honor to be selected and it is an experience that I will always treasure. And my parents love being able to tell people I’m a Fulbrighter.

Did you serve on the Board of Directors or as a Committee Chair?  I was an Ernie Andrews Diversity Advancement Scholar. I was later a chair of the Diversity Advancement Committee. I have served as a sponsorship chair for an EACE annual conference. I’ve presented at many EACE conferences and served on many conference committees. I have been both an EACE mentee and a mentor. I’m sure I’m forgetting some things.

How did EACE help you in your personal career development?  EACE was a tremendous help in my career. When I entered the field I had no formal career development training. I leveraged all of the resources of EACE to ramp up my career development skills. I also developed my network of career services and college recruitment professionals through my engagement in EACE. Many of those people have become life-long friends of mine.

Did you have an EACE Mentor or another member of EACE serve as your unofficial mentor?  Yes. I did have an official EACE mentor, and she was fantastic. We lost touch, but you’ve prompted me to reach out to her via LinkeIn! I also had many unofficial mentors– too many to name and I’m sure I’d leave people off. I also have a network of peer mentors, who are now close friends, and those relationships were initiated in EACE.

What is your advice to current EACE members who aspire to your current or a similar role to yours?  Don’t give up! Connect and engage in an authentic and meaningful way with other EACE members. It will be incredibly rewarding on both a personal and professional level.

 

