Skip to content

Spotlight – Amy Donegan, Boston College

Associate Director – Boston College, Carroll School of Management

Donegan-AmyAmy received her undergraduate degree from North Adams State College and a graduate degree from the University of Vermont.  She has been with the Boston College for 21 years and in her current role for 3 years.

What was your career path to get your current role? Assistant Director at Tuft University, Assistant Director at Boston College Career Center, Associate Director at Boston College Career Center and Associate Director at Boston College, Carroll School of Management

What was your first job? My first professional job was working as a desk editor for a publishing company in Holland.

Why did you choose this career? I did a practicum at UVM in their Career Development Office and just loved it.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role? Organization, passion for working with students (that’s more of a trait than a skill), creativity, patience and empathy.

How did you develop these skills and how do you fine-tune them regularly? Practice, Practice , and more practice. I try to do things differently all the time or institute different tactics for delivering the same type of information. I solicit feedback in person and also through surveys/evaluations.

Did you have a mentor?  My supervisor at UVM was a mentor when I was working for her.  In general, I just would try to find smart people whom I respect and pick their brains.

Did you hold any EACE leadership roles?  Early in my career I chaired a summer conference, and was on some programs committees as well. It helped me connect with people who were better established in the profession.

What is your biggest career accomplishment?  Having my current position created for me in the School of Management because of the work I was doing with them.

What is your advice to students looking for their first job?  You have to network and if there is a particular place you hope to work make sure everyone in that office knows you. That is what I did at BC.

What is your advice to young professionals in the field who aspire to your current role?  Make sure you get an internship or practicum in career development and network. Hold out for the position you want, don’t get sucked in to taking yet another Res Life position if you really want Career Planning. Volunteer if necessary to prove your worth.

What was the best career advice you have ever received?  Don’t worry about the money, find what you love.

 

