Skip to content

Where They Are Now – Shannon Kelly, Temple University

Shannon Kelly

Associate Director of Assessment and Technology – Temple University Career Center

kelly_shannonShannon earned a BA in Sociology from University of Massachusetts-Amherst.  She attended University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education for graduate school where Shannon earned a MSEd in Higher Education Management.  Shannon recently started in her role at Temple.

What was your career path to get your current role?  In college, I held a front desk-workstudy position at the Office of Student Affairs at UMass and it enlightened me to the possibility of doing something similar when “I grew up”. I did Americorps in the Amherst area after I graduated and then decided I wanted to move home to Philadelphia and there was an opening for an administrative assistant at University of Pennsylvania Career Services. I got that position and from there consistently (and very fortunately) moved up the ladder in the department. After being an administrative assistant, I moved to Job and Internship Coordinator where I managed the NACElink system and established a social media presence. I got reclassified to an Associate Director after I earned my master’s and slowly incorporated counseling to my existing duties. From there, I took a slightly higher Associate Director role in the department to focus more on counseling, program development and social media. When the unique opportunity came to join Temple University Career Center during their growth period, I jumped at it – so here I am today as Associate Director of Assessment and Technology!

What was your first job?  Program Assistant for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Hampshire County through Youthserve Americorps in Massachusetts. I didn’t know what I wanted to do when I graduated college and Americorps resonated with my passion for helping others while working towards an education award for graduate school.

Why did you choose this career?  I genuinely want to help people. This passion for helping has evolved throughout my career. First, I helped at-risk youth. Then, I helped career counselors manage their work which helped students. Then, I managed technology to help others in their career…you can see where I’m going because now I finally am at a more strategic level to use assessment and virtual resources to help my colleagues and the students and alumni of Temple.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role?  Relationship management. I’m very new to my role, so building relationships is critical for me to understand what needs to be done by me, what has been done by others and how to generate buy-in while respecting the roles of everyone who is working towards the same goal – helping students and alumni navigate their professional development path.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly?  I like to learn and to meet people. I’m a social and inquisitive person, which is probably why I love social media. These areas of my life help me develop and fine tuning my relationship building/management skills, as well keeping an open mind, asking questions, listening to others and being as approachable as possible. All while fully recognizing I don’t know everything and I need to learn where I fit in, in a respectful and meaningful way.

What is your biggest career accomplishment?  Getting this new role at Temple is definitely high up there. I worked at Penn for 7 years, where I was from the age of 23-30 and did a lot of growing up and I learning under Pat Rose and Kelly Cleary and all my other incredible colleagues. Now, I’m in a completely new position at Temple that reflects that shift in career services and higher education where assessment and technology are at the forefront. I’m really pumped to have the opportunity to focus on these areas and help my new home of Temple grow to meet those changes.

What EACE Leadership roles have you held?  Co-Chair of the Technology Committee and now Director of Technology on the Board.

How does EACE help you in your personal career development?  Currently, EACE is helping me develop my leadership skills, but throughout my membership it has helped me build my network in our field to improve so many skills from technology and social media to career counseling and program development. There are too many to name just one!

Did you have an EACE Mentor or another member of EACE serve as your unofficial mentor?  It takes a village…I have been mentored by my colleagues at Penn and my EACE family. They know who they are.

What is your advice to current EACE members who aspire to your current or a similar role to yours?  Get involved in an area where you want to grow – there are so many different committees and it is such a great way to meet people and you may even find good friends for life outside of work while doing it – like I have!

 

