Skip to content

Spotlight – Lorie Logan-Bennett, Towson University

Lorie Logan-Bennett

Director, Career Center at Towson University

Credit: Alena Schwarz/ The Towerlight

Credit: Alena Schwarz/ The Towerlight

Lorie received her bachelor’s degree from Ohio University and her master’s from The Ohio State University. She has been in her current role at Towson University for 3 years.

What was your career path to get your current role? While in grad school, I lucked into a graduate assistantship with the OSU College of Arts & Sciences Career Services office. After grad school, I worked for the Ohio Legislature for a few years then relocated to Baltimore where I was fortunate to get a position in the Career Services Center at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). Over the next 14 years there, I served as Assistant Director than Associate Director. Three years ago I was fortunate to be able to join the Career Center at Towson University in the Director’s role.

What was your first job? My first job was working in a food truck at fairs and festivals. Now food trucks are hip – back then it was just hot and greasy!

Why did you choose this career? I was so fortuante to more or less fall into such

challenging, rewarding and exciting work. The ability to support students as they pursue their professional goals, connect employers to talent as they build their workforce, and contribute to the mission of fantastic public universities has truly been a priviledge. I love the fact that career work offers the opportunity for variety, to make a difference, and to constantly grow and develop.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role? I’m a StrengthsQuest convert and I’d say my input, achiever, analytical and individualization themes have been helpful in allowing me to build a vision with my team and move the mission of the Center forward.

Did you hold any EACE leadership roles? I’ve had the opportunity to be a part of the EACE community since 1998 and look forward to additional ways to contribute going forward. – Public Relations Co-Chair (2011-2012) – Conference Committee Public Relations Co-Chair (2011) – Conference Committee Site Chair (2007) – Spring Conference Programs Committee (1998)

What is your biggest career accomplishment? It would be hard to single out one accomplishment, primarily because the things I’m most proud of tend to be the smaller scale impacts — a student’s success, a new process that makes everyone’s job easier or experience better. And really, anything I can claim as an accomplishment has only been because of a talented staff, supportive colleagues and leaders who value the Center’s mission.

What is your advice to students looking for their first job? I always advise starting early and not going it alone. Build connections with faculty, other students, alumni, and professionals and take advantage of all the resources at your fingertips.

What is your advice to young professionals in the field who aspire to your current role? Get a broad range of experiences, work hard, take initiative, develop competencies, embrace curiousity, and be kind.

What was the best career advice you have ever received? I think the best career advice I’ve received has really been through observing those who were well-respected, competent, creative and forward-thinking. It’s not so much what they said, but what they did. Being able to follow their lead has been invaluable.

What would you like colleagues to know about your organization? Towson University, with 22,000 students is the second largest university in Maryland. We have a hard-working, talented student population studying in over 110 different programs.

 

