Skip to content

My Year as a Bridges-EACE Blogger

My Year as a Bridges-EACE Blogger

EACE Blog contribution by Amy Weinstein, Assistant Director/Technology Manager at Bryant University

weinstein-post-imageAfter a year of blogging for EACE, this post reflects my overwhelmingly positive experience.

A little background…

Three years ago, I started working at Bryant University, with part of my job title designated as “Technology Manager.”   Before this job, I’d always been secretly glad that I was one of the few people never to use Facebook. I’m proud to say that, as my 3 year work anniversary approaches, I’ve earned my title and writing for the EACE blog has been a big part of my experience.

Blogging benefits:

  • Get Involved with EACE

Blogging allows me to stay involved with EACE without a huge time commitment. I know that sounds rather lazy, but working full-time and juggling a family makes time my most precious resource. Plus, I love to write! Years ago, I was very involved in MPACE (Mountain Pacific Association of College and Employers) and it is great to find my way back to professional involvement, even in a small way.

  • Connect with Colleagues

As an EACE blogger, I’ve been able to reach out to other colleagues for blog content and I’ve also heard from colleagues in response to my blog posts. The EACE conference provided an opportunity for all bloggers to connect face-to-face.

  • Show your Expertise

It is often difficult to think of topics that I imagine are relevant and interesting to colleagues. However, I value the EACE blog for being able to share my own best practices as well learn from others.

  • Beef up your Resume/CV

Let’s face it, we all use social media in our work. But finding tangible ways to show our skills can be challenging. The EACE blog provides a tangible line item on a resume and LinkedIn profile. I especially enjoy reading posts from new professionals who are doing a fantastic job of leveraging their blogger role as a tool for branding themselves and showing their knowledge.

  • Brand your University

Blogging is a great way to showcase best practices happening in your career center or at your university.   Don’t forget to include photos. My supervisor has used a few of my posts as a means of internal communication to inform faculty and others of our work.

Ready to consider blogging for EACE? Contact: Bridges Co-Chairs Demetria Moran, dmoran@ric.edu; or Susan Caizzi, scaizzi@rwu.edu


 

Amy Weinstein, Assistant Director/Technology Manager at Bryant University, has been assisting students with career advising for over 15 years. Amy has worked in career services offices at the University of Rhode Island and the University of San Francisco. She has also worked as a university relations recruiter for AMD Corporation.  Amy has a Master of Science in Career Counseling from San Francisco State University and Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from the University of Rhode Island.

