Skip to content

Where They Are Now – Rae Ann Bories-Easley, University of Denver

Rae Ann Bories-Easley

Director, Office of Career Development and Professional Development, University of Denver, Josef Korbel School

Rae Ann Bories-Easley

Rae Ann Bories-Easley

Rae Ann obtained her Masters degree in Student Affairs in Higher Education at Colorado State University and her Bachelors in Economics from UC San Diego.  She has been with the University of Denver in her current role for 3.5 years.

What was your career path (previous roles) to get your current role? Director, Office of Career and Professional Development, Josef Korbel School at the University of Denver July 2010 – Present (3 years 6 months); Director, Outreach and Marketing, American University Career Center American University 2000 – 2008; Coordinator, International Internship Program American University Career Center 1997-2000; Fellow Robert Bosch Fellowship June 2004 – May 2005 (1 year); Studied German, worked at the Zentrale Auslands- und Fachvermittlung (ZAV) of the Arbeitsargentur (Central Foreign Placement Office of the German Federal Employment Agency) in Bonn and worked in Career Service at the University of Muenster; Assistant Resident Dean, Eleanor Roosevelt College, UC San Diego August 1993 – March 1997 (3 years 8 months); Manager, Family Student Housing Colorado State University August 1991 – July 1993 (2 years)

What was your first job? My first job was probably as a babysitter when I was 11 or 12. My first job with a “real” paycheck was at a gift shop where I dusted shelves.

Why did you choose this career? After several odd jobs in high school and college at non-profits and on campus, I became a Resident Assistant in Housing at UC San Diego. I loved working in student affairs and decided to go straight to graduate school at Colorado State University where I earned an M.S. in Student Affairs in Higher Education. My focus was on international education so my first job after graduate school was directing the I-House at UC San Diego. When I moved to Washington DC, I was thrilled to get a job as the International Internship Coordinator in the Career Center. This launched my career in Career Services and I’ve always found a way to keep it internationally focused.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role? Strategic management – being able to do more with limited resources and managing staff.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly? I’ve had great mentors and I continue to ask for help and feedback!

What is your biggest career accomplishment? One of the things I’m most proud of is helping pave the way for more Career Services Professionals to take part in the Fulbright Seminar in Germany for Higher Education Administrators.

How many years were you a member of EACE? Probably close to 10 years. I can’t remember exactly.  I was a member during my roles as the Director, Outreach and Marketing, American University Career Center and the Coordinator, International Internship Program American University Career Center 

Did you serve on the Board of Directors or as a Committee Chair? I served on the Conference Planning Committee as the Publicity Co-chair for the EACE Conference in Pittsburgh in in 2004. Unfortunately I served up until about 2 months before the conference and then I left the country for a Bosch Fellowship to work in Career Services for a year in Germany. Before that, I served on program committee for the 2003 EACE annual conference. I was also awarded a research grant to study the components necessary for Career Center/faculty partnerships that support students’ career development, 2003.

How did EACE help you in your personal career development (e.g. new skill set)? EACE was a great network! The people I met through EACE provided a peer group to benchmark with, to find mentors and get encouragement. It was a great group to share ideas with and get feedback. I presented at conferences which also helped with further developing presentation skills.

Did you have an EACE Mentor or another member of EACE serve as your unofficial mentor? If so, who? I don’t have an official mentor, but many of the people I met though EACE including Marianna Savoca, Helen Brown, Sharon Hansen, Leslie Stevenson, Ralph Bingham and others were great colleagues and at different times I learned a lot from all of them.

What is your advice to current EACE members who aspire to your current or a similar role to yours? Get involved, find mentors, present at EACE, and if you’re interested in international work, apply for the International Education Administrators (IEA) seminar to Germany!

Rae Ann visited her career center when she was a student.

