Skip to content

Summer Reading

Summer Reading

EACE Blog contribution by Beth Settje, Senior Assistant Director, Internship Program – Center for Career Development at the University of Connecticut

beth's-summer-reading-listNow that we are in the full throws of summer – which for me means extensive planning, goal setting, and projects at work – I find myself ready to engage in some good summer reading. I am a constant reader all year round, though books tend to be an escape from my daily routine as a full-time career professional, wife, and mother. In the course of the school year, I typically gravitate towards fiction and fun, suspending all reality given that life hands me more than enough each day. However, since it is summer and my brain is not fried from the emotional upheaval normally thrown my way, I will embrace a book that is not suspenseful, romantic or action packed, especially if it is one that may relate to my doing my job better.

I put together a list of my nightstand reading below (in alphabetical order, not priority); perhaps one or more will resonate with you. And if you have other titles to share, both books you have already read and recommend, or ones you anticipate reading in the near future, please be sure to add them in the comment section.

Academically Adrift: Limited Learning on College Campuses, Richard Arum

A frank discussion about whether or not college is for everyone. Are students being directed to college when perhaps, there are other viable options for them that are better fits? What are students learning when they are at college? These questions and more are explored in the book.

Quiet, Susan Cain

As an extraverted introvert, I constantly struggle with the idea of Introversion. This book is a primer for both personality types, offering insight into the world of Quiet. The introduction alone pulled me right in. It is also the book of choice for my book club, so I have to read it!

Blink, Malcolm Gladwell

Not his most current, but it is on the shelf waiting for me. I thoroughly enjoyed Tipping Point and want to read his books in order of publication. Blink addresses how we make decisions and understand people, in the first few moments we meet them.

Lean In, Sheryl Sandburg

Even my father has encouraged me to read Lean In. Knowing I often think about women and positions of leadership, as well as my own profession, this book is an absolutely Must Read for me.

The Self-Aware Leader, Daniel P. Gallagher and Joseph Costal

After hearing Gallagher speak at the 2013 EACE conference, I eagerly took his book, ready to finish the conversation with myself, about my own leadership style. The session reminded me to take a moment and focus on my own personal, professional growth. Time for a refresher.

Not on the nightstand yet, but on the short list to get:

Trajectory: 7 Career Strategies to Take You from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be, David L. Van Rooy

Read the first few chapters as part of a daily book blog that delivers samples of books to my email every day, www.DearReader.com, and was hooked. Similar to Lean In, as a career professional, this one caught my eye as one to read and possibly recommend to students.


 

Beth Settje

Beth Settje

Beth S. Settje has been working in higher education for over 20 years, and in career development for the past 12, with a focus on internships since 2005. Beth earned her BS in Business Administration from Arcadia University and her M.Ed in College Student Personnel from the University of Maryland.  Beth currently works at The University of Connecticut in Storrs, CT, as the Senior Assistant Director, Internship Program.

One Comment
  1. Our Division of Student Affairs is trying out a book club. Our first selection was DIY U by Anya Kamenetz. Some of us weren’t able to finish the book in time for the discussion, but we still had a really good discussion about the future of higher education.

    July 23, 2014

Comments are closed.

