Skip to content

Where They Are Now – Mark Anthony, University of South Carolina

Mark Anthony

Assistant Director for Career Development, University of South Carolina

Mark Anthony

Mark Anthony

Mark earned both his bachelors and masters from the Indiana University of Pennsylvania. Mark has been in his current role and organization for close to a year now.

What was your career path to get your current role? Assistant Director, Punxsutawney Campus, Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP); Assistant Director, Career Services, Clarion University; Associate Director, Career Services, IUP; Director, Career Development Center, IUP.

What was your first job? As a teenager, I mowed lawns for some older people. My first real job was working in the kitchen of a restaurant doing cooking and food prep to help pay for college.

Why did you choose this career?  Coming out of my bachelors program in the 1982 recession, the job market was not good. I had tried finding a job in human resources, and a friend told me about the Masters program in Student Personnel Services at IUP. There was an assistantship in the Career Services office, and it was the best of worlds, using my business education and still being in a higher education setting, so in a way, the career chose me. I can’t see myself doing anything other than working with students on a college campus to help them shape their future.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role? Listening and problem-solving would be the two skills that serve me the most. As a career coach, being able to listen to a student describe their challenges, or their dreams, then to help them process their thoughts, and help the student plan their next steps works is vital.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly? I’ve always been a listener, and I’m constantly learning from NPR, TED Talks, and readings from a variety of publications. Learning from my peers through conferences and webinars is a great help as well.

What is your biggest career accomplishment? I could list a dozen programs or events I’ve worked on over all these years, but it always comes down to the relationships I’ve developed with colleagues in WestPACS, PennACE, EACE, and particularly with the graduate students that I’ve worked with over the years. I’ve watched them grow into leaders in the student affairs field, and particularly those who’ve gone on to become colleagues in the career services field have been my greatest source of pride.

How many years were you a member of EACE? Since before EACE existed! I was in MAPA, then MAACE, and then EACE.

What organization(s) and role(s) did you have when you were a member of EACE? 2009 Conference Publicity Committee; Technology Committee; 2004 Conference Co-Chair, Entertainment Committee; Professional Exchange Program Committee; 1993 Conference Planning Committee.

Did you serve on the Board of Directors or as a Committee Chair? If so, what was your role? Director, Membership Recruiting & Retention, 2012-2013

How did EACE help you in your personal career development (e.g. new skill set)? EACE provided a network of the best career professionals who were willing to collaborate, share, coach, instruct, and most of all, provide support and friendship. Every member taught me a little bit more about something that I never knew or experienced.

Did you have an EACE Mentor or another member of EACE serve as your unofficial mentor? If so, who? There have been so many people over time that I’ve known through EACE. I remember being one of the “new kids” back in the early 1990’s (and some of us are still around but we never got any older!). Marv Roth has been a mentor and a model of hard work, professionalism, and dedication to the field.

What is your advice to current EACE members who aspire to your current or a similar role to yours? Volunteer! Every organization, whether it is a local, state, or regional association, NEEDS you to step forward. Even with increasing workloads, you do yourself a disservice by not getting involved in your professional group and contributing your knowledge, experience, and talents, and you will miss out on meeting and working with some FUN people!

Mark did visit his career center when he was in college.


Reposted from January 2014

