Skip to content

Where They Are Now – Chris Sullivan

Chris Sullivan

Director, Student Advocacy – Salem State University

sullivan-chrisChris received a M.Ed. in College Personnel and Counseling from Northeastern University  and a B.S. in Elementary Education from Framingham State University.  She has been in her current role for over 1 year and with Salem State University for 17 years.

What was your career path to get your current role?  Salem State University – Director, Career Services; Northeastern University – Director Undergraduate Career Services;  Associate Director, Career Services; Assistant Director, Career Services;  Children’s Museum Interpreter Program Coordinator

What was your first job?  Teachers Aide

Why did you choose this career?  In my role at The Children’s Museum, I became exposed to working with traditional college age students and discovered a passion for this age group. As I began to explore my next steps, I came upon a program at Northeastern which focused on college student development. To pay for school, I worked as a graduate assistant within the Career Services Office at NU which started my journey working in higher education.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role?  I would say probably listening and relationship building.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly?  Through my work at The Children’s Museum, I was fortunate to have several amazing mentors who challenged me to stretch my self and commit to on going personal growth. I have been fortunate to have had the opportunity to work for institutions which have valued professional development and supported my ongoing work on improving and gaining skills.

What is your biggest career accomplishment?  One which I am very proud of was leading the transition and recreation of the Career Services Office at Salem State University from a underused office to an active well known resource on campus.

How many years were you a member of EACE?  I’m not sure at least 16

How did EACE help you in your personal career development?  The relationships, knowledge, employer contacts, access to vendors were vital to keeping up to date for a small Career Services Office.

Did you have an EACE Mentor or another member of EACE serve as your unofficial mentor?  No one officially, but many people who were willing to give of their time, knowledge and support.

What is your advice to current EACE members who aspire to your current or a similar role to yours?  My current role is really outside of the Career Services world. I think what I would say is to develop relationships outside of the office which will enhance your work and also expose you to other opportunities. Get known on campus by becoming involved in the greater college community. Every day, I use my knowledge of student development, counseling, relationship building and resource development as I assist students who are dealing with significant challenges.

 

