Skip to content

Where They Are Now – Dan Ryan, University at Buffalo

Dan Ryan

Director of Off-Campus Student Services and Director of Veteran Services, University at Buffalo

Dan Ryan

Dan Ryan

Dan has a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and a Master’s in Counselor Education from Canisius College.  He has a PhD in Higher Education from the University at Buffalo. He has been in his current role for six years and with the University at Buffalo for 17 years.

What was your career path (previous roles) to get your current role? I started in Higher Education as an Assistant Director of Career Services then became the Director of Disability Services and Assistant Dean of Student Services at Canisius College.  I went to UB as the Director of Career Services and left in 2008 to become Director of Off-Campus Student Services.  This year, I added Director of Veteran Services to my current role.

What was your first job? Stock Broker – First Albany Corporation

Why did you choose this career? I was very active as a student and loved working with the Student Affairs folks.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role? Strategic planning

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly? With the exception of my first position, each job I have taken on has been either a start-up opportunity or an opportunity to turn-around a program. In each case, I have had to approach issues strategically so that improvements could be achievable and built upon.

What is your biggest career accomplishment? I oversaw a Career Services Office that was ranked last in Student Satisfaction.  In three years, we were ranked first and remained in first throughout my tenure.

How many years were you a member of EACE? Approximately 15-18 years

Did you serve on the EACE Board of Directors or as a Committee Chair? I served on the Board, co-chaired a couple of conferences, and served on a number of conference committees and other committees.

How did EACE help you in your personal career development (e.g. new skill set)? EACE was a tremendous help to me primarily through the excellent connections I made with recruiters and career services professionals. It is an extremely generous collection of people.

Did you have an EACE Mentor or another member of EACE serve as your unofficial mentor? Jerry Donahue and Tom Tarantelli for sure.

What is your advice to current EACE members who aspire to your current or a similar role to yours? Seek counseling!

Dan did visit his career center when in college.

