Skip to content

Where They Are Now – Bryan Barts, University of Wisconsin – Stout

Bryan Barts

Career Counselor, University of Wisconsin – Stout

Bryan Barts

Bryan Barts

Bryan completed both his undergraduate and graduate degrees at the University of Wisconsin – Stout. He has been in his current role and organization for two years now.

What was your career path to get your current role? Intern at the Career Placement Office in Grad School at the University of Wisconsin – Stout; Career Counselor, Philadelphia University; Assistant Director, Philadelphia University; Assistant Director – Employer Relations and Recruiting, Delaware Valley College; Associate Director, North Dakota State University.


UPDATE: Bryan recently moved from North Dakota and started a new role at his alma mater at University of Wisconsin – Stout since information for this Spotlight was collected.  He is now a Career Counselor and coordinates two Career Conferences.  He teaches career planning and job procurement processes; and coordinates employment activities for undergraduate, graduate level students, and alumni for the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences and selected majors in the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics


What was your first job? My first job was in high school working at McDonalds.

Why did you choose this career?  Simply put, to make a difference in the lives of students. I chose this career because it blended my natural counseling skills and background with practical outcomes and realistic approaches. I enjoy helping students develop confidence in themselves and find fulfillment in preparing students transitioning into the working world.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role? In my current role, the most important skills I use is effective communication and strategic planning. Whether I am delivering a classroom presentation, discussing a Career Center initiative, promoting a recruiting event or meeting with a student/faculty/staff, my ability to use each of these skills is important in carrying out my responsibilities.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly? I developed these skills by taking on significantly different professional roles within career services. Through experiences in both areas of career services – career counseling and employer development – I learned the value of planning to achieve a goal, meeting student needs, and spotting trends that affect career services. I fine tune it by staying active in professional associations at both the national and local levels, serving on committees and collaborating with campus departments and meeting with faculty.

What is your biggest career accomplishment? I would have to say that my biggest career accomplishment to date would be receiving an award from NACE for creating a student job search tool.

How many years were you a member of EACE? 7 years

Did you serve on the Board of Directors or as a Committee Chair? Yes, I served on the  2010 Annual Conference Committee and as the Technology Chair

How did EACE help you in your personal career development? EACE helped me in so many ways. I developed an appreciation for the size and scope of the career services work throughout an entire region of the country. I would say skills that EACE helped me develop were definitely program planning and marketing. I also learned the importance of having a strong network of professional to rely on when I would need to.

Did you have an EACE Mentor or another member of EACE serve as your unofficial mentor? Unofficially, yes. I would have to say, the people who I would regularly go to are Helen Brown, Matt Brink, Tracy DePedro and Trish Shafer.

What is your advice to current EACE members who aspire to your current or a similar role to yours? Get involved in EACE. If you want to take your professional career to the next level, then take advantage of the relationships and networking that can take place in EACE. It is a dynamic group of people and I was happy to be a part of it.

Bryan did visit his career center when in college.

