Skip to content

Spotlight – Pete Radloff, exaqueo

Pete Radloff 

Lead Consultant, exaqueo

Pete Radloff

Pete Radloff

Pete attended the State University of New York, College at Oneonta. He has been in his current role and organization for one year.

What was your career path (previous roles) to get your current role? I began my career on the staffing agency side, and spent 5 years there before I went to the corporate side. I wanted to be behind a brand, and be able to grow and nurture that brand.

What was your first job? My first non-recruiting job was as a PR and Volunteer Coordinator for a State Facility for adults with disabilities. My first recruiting job was as an On-Site Account Manager/Recruiter with a government contractor.

Why did you choose this career?  I’m a social creature, and working on spreadsheets in a closed office all day wouldn’t suit my personality. I also want to help people. What better way to help them, than to help them achieve their career goals.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role? Listening. The most important parts of what happens in my field is to listen. That tells you almost everything.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly? You have to be an active listener. For a recruiter, there is so much temptation to screen, ask questions and make decisions. You have to constantly remind yourself to sit back and listen. Let people fill in the gaps for you.

Did you have a mentor? If so, how did that mentor help in your career development? I do. It is the person who gave me my first recruiting role, with no experience. He trusted that he could train me, and that my natural drive would propel me. He’s been there for questions, to set me straight when I’m not seeing something clearly, and to help guide me with career choices. I haven’t accepted another role without talking to him first.

What is your biggest career accomplishment? Helping to build the recruiting function and employment brand at two successful high-growth companies. Building something where there was previously nothing is an amazing feeling and a tremendous opportunity.

What is your advice to students looking for their first job? Be open and flexible. It’s likely that your first job out of school will not be a VP role or a leadership role. You’ll need to get comfortable in the professional arena, and being humble goes along way in how others perceive your character.

What is your advice to young professionals in the field who aspire to your current role?  Make sure you are organized and self-motivated. Recruiting is a field that requires you to plan and execute your own day/week/month quite often. Also, embrace change and “living in the gray”. That took me years to get comfortable with, but has been a great tool.

What was the best career advice you have ever received? Recruiting working with people. People are the most unpredictable commodity in the world. Always be prepared for the other side of the coin.

What would you like colleagues to know about your organization (i.e. hiring practices/programs)? I work for two organizations currently on a consulting basis. exaqueo is a workforce consultancy that assists start-up and high-growth organizations with employment branding, culture development and talent strategies. NPR is my other consulting role. I’m assisting them in hiring for their Digital Media teams, doing technical recruiting, where it all started for me. I’m also assisting with recruiting operations for them as well.

Pete did visit his career center when he was in college.

