Skip to content

Spotlight – Kiersten Sedlar, Zappos

Kiersten Sedlar

Quirky College Recruiter, Zappos

Kiersten SedlarKiersten attended Michigan State University for her undergraduate work. She has been in his current role for one year and with Zappos for four years.

What was your career path (previous roles) to get your current role?: I started in the recruiting team as a recruiting assistant z’apprentice (intern). I then moved over to helping our tech teams recruit as a tech recruiting assistant. In 2011 Zappos started its internship program and I was asked to be the college recruiting assistant. After working with the college recruiting team for a year I was promoted to a recruiter for our Merchandising teams then later assisted our Finance teams. About a year after being a recruiter I moved back into the college recruiting team as the college recruiter. I have been in this role since June 2013. As you can see, I have held many roles in recruiting over the last 4 years and have loved every step of the way.

What was your first job?: My first job was working as a cake decorator for a grocery store when I was 16.

Why did you choose this career? : To be honest, I moved to Las Vegas to become a wedding coordinator. After taking many paths in the search for a career I found Zappos and realized that this is where I wanted to be. After joining Zappos, there was an opening in the recruiting team as an assistant z’apprentice (intern). The role had a really strong focus on coordinating schedules and scheduling interviews. I was immediately interested with having had a background in event coordination.

What is the skill that is most important in your current role?: Flexibility in the fact that things are constantly changing in the field an you must be open to change.

How did you develop this skill and how do you fine-tune it regularly?: The OCD part of me wasn’t used to all of the change when I first started (haha) but working for a company that is constantly adapting and trying to improve itself has taught be to not only accept change but to help drive it.

Did you have a mentor? If so, how did that mentor help in your career development?: Yes, my mentor was the first recruiter that interviewed me and that I worked for during my recruiting assistant z’apprenticeship. He is actually now the recruiting manager. He has taught me so many things regarding recruiting especially recruiting at Zappos since we put so much importance on recruiting for culture.

Zappos Recruiting Team

Zappos Recruiting Team

What is your biggest career accomplishment?: Assisting with the creation of the internship program at Zappos in 2011.

What is your advice to students looking for their first job?: Find something that you are truly passionate about and love doing. As well as finding somewhere that has a great culture. Lots of people focus on the paycheck or the title but to be truly happy in a career you must enjoy coming to work everyday.

What is your advice to young professionals in the field who aspire to your current role? : Definitely be eager and open to change. I definitely see the traditional way of college recruiting changing in the near future. Also, continue to build relationships wherever you go. Recruiting is such a social career path that thrives on networking and building relationships.

What was the best career advice you have ever received?: Be open minded and willing to take risks.

What would you like colleagues to know about your organization (i.e. hiring practices/programs)?: Zappos.com focuses on recruiting for culture and company fit. Our CEO always states that if you get the culture right the rest will follow.

Kiresten visited her career center when she was in college.

